Welcome to EWTN GB - Global Catholic Television Network - Copyright ©
HomeArticleWhat are the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit?

What are the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit?

What are the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit?

Catechism of the Catholic Church

1830 – The moral life of Christians is sustained by the gifts of the Holy Spirit. These are permanent dispositions which make man docile in following the promptings of the Holy Spirit.

1831 – The seven gifts of the Holy Spirit are wisdom, understanding, counsel, fortitude, knowledge, piety, and fear of the Lord. They belong in their fullness to Christ, Son of David.109 They complete and perfect the virtues of those who receive them. They make the faithful docile in readily obeying divine inspirations.

Let your good spirit lead me on a level path.110

For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God . . . If children, then heirs, heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ.111

109 – Cf. Isa 11:1-2

110 – Ps 143:10

111 – Rom 8:14,17

Isaiah 11:1-3

There shall come forth a shoot from the stump ofJesse,

and a branch from his roots shall bear fruit.

2Andthe Spirit of theLordshall rest upon him,

the Spirit of wisdom and understanding,

the Spirit of counsel and might,

the Spirit of knowledge and the fear of theLord.

3And his delight shall be in the fear of theLord.

And how can we obtain these gifts? Our Lord himself tells us:

Luke 11:9-13

9And I tell you,ask, andit will be given to you;seek, and you will find;knock, and it will be opened to you.10For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened.11What father among you, if his son asks for a fish, will instead of a fish give him a serpent;12or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion?13If you then,who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will the heavenly Fathergive the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”

Share With: